Represents Member States under political sanction

On May 25 1963 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, the 32 African states that had achieved independence at that time agreed to establish the Organization of African Unity (OAU). A further 21 members joined gradually, reaching a total of 53 by the time of the AUPC’s creation in 2002. There are 55 Member States. The following list shows all members, in alphabetical order, and their date of joining the AUPC or its predecessor the OAU.